Flowers in My Hair

“ Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.”Mark 10:14,15

By Roxanne C. Rabino, BSN, RN

Missionary Nurse, Taytay, Palawan

I am always amused with the innocence of little children. They ask the strangest questions, disarm cold hearts with candid laughters and render forgiveness more than what the bible asks. Sometimes I wish I could be child-like again.

Faith Adventist Academy will be my new home for a year. When I asked God to send me to a place I’m needed, I never expected that He’d send me to a mission school to be a school nurse and so much more. In here, I was older than most of the population. I am ma’am Roxanne to the students. It sounded strange to me at first, but I guess I’ll get used to the courtesy. One week into my stay, I joined the homeroom devotional of the fist year students. We formed a little circle outdoors, under the shade of a tree. God’s presence was felt in our communion with nature. I couldn’t ask for a better background music than the chirping birds and the rushing creek around us. The children sat cross-legged around me, asking me to tell them a story about my life and the place where I came from. While I gladly obliged, some students started picking flowers and placed them on my hair. At that moment, I remembered not missing my own home. I greatly appreciated their way of telling me I’m welcome and it made coping in a new place way easier for me. I hoped I didn’t resemble a flower vase with my hair packed with yellow belles and hibiscus blooms.

I wondered why God wanted us to be like little children. He answered my question by letting me experience their trust, gestures of love and sweet faithfulness. In my youth I have failed to realize that all I needed to do was to sit at His feet and be blessed by His mere presence. In the worries of everyday life, I forgot to take my time and smell the flowers.

God wouldn’t shoo us away or tell us to grow up from our child-like innocence. He loves us to hover over him and listen to His stories exemplified through his handiworks.  I bet He would even appreciate a bouquet of flowers or two. I couldn’t wait for heaven where all that blooms never die and story time with Jesus will last for eternity.

I’ve been here for a month now. I sometimes think of my family, friends and our home and I miss them terribly, but a secret keeps me going. It is the occasional love letters from the children and the every so often yellow and red flowers tucked in my hair.

Posted on August 10, 2011, in Devotional and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

