Learning to control

By Stephen Jan Vincent Isidro, BSN, RN 

Missionary Nurse, Aborlan Project

According to the Merriam-Wesbter Dictionary, self control is a restraint exercised over one’s own impulses, emotions, or desires.

It’s already our fourth month here in Palawan and we’re already in our project site. We encountered a lot of challenging obstacles that made us more mature and competent. As days passed by, I discovered a lot of things and met a lot of people with different personalities that changed my point of view in life. I learned that in order for a missionary to survive, he or shee needs to equip himself or herself with a lot of self control, because in the field there are a lot of temptations and obstacles.

One of my experiences regarding self-control was when we had a girl patient with a wound on her right thumb. We managed to gather some information regarding her wound, and we learned that it was caused by an improvised home-made gun.  We managed to clean the wound, but the parents refused to bring their daughter to the hospital. Bone dislocation was prominent on her right thumb. We told them of the possible complications, but again, they refused. I was so mad that I want to slap their faces of how irresponsible and heartless they were on bringing their daughter to the hospital. But all I did was to control my temper and pray to God to give me a dozen of self-control. After that incident I realized that if I did not control my temper then I will add more damage to the problem and it will affect my standing in the community thus affecting my duty as a missionary nurse.

The Psalmist ones said, “Set us watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips. Incline not my heart to any evil things.” Psalm 141:3-4

Thank you Lord for the guidance and for granting me a lot of self control in times of temptation, Amen….

Posted on July 27, 2011, in Devotional and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

